It is no news that relationships naturally change as they grow and develop. The change can either be positive or negative, but most of the time, it’s negative as the relationship often gets boring and sour.

Although it’s natural, sometimes it can be difficult for one, or both partners to understand why the change and most of all, what to do about it. These changes breed frustration, anger and arguments but, the good news is, there are ways you can navigate through the change and bring back the spark in your relationship.

Building a fulfilling relationship is an ongoing journey of discovery and growth, it requires a lot of effort and commitment, but most importantly, knowing your partner’s love language will have you both falling head over heels every now and then and save your relationship from boredom.this article is Inspired by “The Five Love Languages” of Gary Chapman”.

1. Quality Time

This means giving each other your undivided attention, in the absence of Tv, phones and anything that could drift your attention away. This time could be a heart to heart talk, going out for a meal, taking a walk just the two of you, reading your favourite book aloud to each other, cooking a meal, shopping together, washing the car on a hot day, going on a picnic or even a get away. One good thing about quality time is that it creates a bank of memories that remind your partner of your unwavering love.

2. Words of Affirmation

These are words that communicate your love, appreciation and respect for your partner. It could be complements as little as “ You are beautiful, you look stunning in that suit”, or words of appreciation like thank you for paying the rents, thank you for always cooking for the kids and I ,I’m grateful for the love you show us or thank you for always working hard to provide for us. It could also be words of encouragement to push your partner forward and give them hope or humble words, which ask for requests and not give orders. Being kind and humble in your speech is very important if you want a healthy relationship.

3. Gifts

Gifts are virtual symbols of love. It could be money, especially if your partner is a spender and adores shopping or even a donation to a church or foundation your spouse likes. Gifts can also be bought, made or found. Imagine coming home with a bracelet or even socks for your spouse, or better still picking a flower for your spouse while taking a walk or a stone while on the beach. A gift can also be a gift of self. This means being there for your partner physically when they need you the most, especially in times of crisis. According to Gary Chapman, What makes a gift special is not the amount but the thought.

4. Acts of Service

Doing things you know your partner would like you to do can add spice to your relationship. This can include, cooking a meal, setting the table, laying the bed, changing baby diapers, babysitting the child, vacuuming the house, doing the laundry, giving her a Haircare day or giving him a pedicure. This can only be possible if both parties overcome stereotypes, especially habits inherited from their parents.

5. Physical touch

Physical touch is another important way of expressing love. This touch can be simply holding hands when walking together, random kisses, sexual intercourse and embracing or spontaneous hugs, especially in times of crisis.

Knowing your partner's love language and practicing it will create a stronger bond between you two, and  keep the love flame always burning in your relationship. Just so you know, We can only learn to love by loving.

                                                                                                Kwatika Pamela, Editor

You’ve successfully subscribed to FabAfriq Magazine
Welcome back! You’ve successfully signed in.
Great! You’ve successfully signed up.
Your link has expired
Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.